European Prize for Architecture 2016

Chris Bosse, Alexander Rieck, and Tobias Wallisser who founded the Berlin-based firm of LAVA Laboratory for Visionary Architecture have been selected as the 2016 Laureate of the prestigious European Prize for Architecture.

Foto: Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Tobias Wallisser M.Sc. (LAVA, Ausschnitt)Foto: Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Tobias Wallisser M.Sc. (LAVA, Ausschnitt)


"The European Centre presents Europe's most influential architects nominated for The European Prize for Architecture. The European Prize for Architecture recognises  those influential architects that have changed and challenged the direction of contemporary architecture today and who have blazoned a more humane and intellectual approach to architecture."

Previous Laureates include: Bjarke Ingels (Denmark), Graft Architects (Germany), TYIN Architects (Norway), Marco Casagrande (Finland), Alessandro Mendini (Italy), and Santiago Calatrava (Spain/Switzerland).

Christian Narkiewicz-Laine, President/CEO of The Chicago Athenaeum said: “We are delighted to present The European Prize for Architecture to this young, inventive, and exuberant architecture firm that stands at the crossroads in their aspiring career.  The European Prize for Architecture is not a ‘lifetime of achievement award,’ but rather serves as an impetus to support new ideas, to encourage and foster more challenge-making and forward-thinking about buildings and the environment, and to prompt the pushing of the envelope to obtain an even greater, more profound result.”

Further information you will find here:,

Zum Seitenanfang